Oregon Art Beat

Black Prairie

Clip: Season 14 Episode 1423 | 8m 53s Video has closed captioning.

Black Prairie formed in 2007 when three Decemberists - Chris Funk, Jenny Conlee and Nate Query - were looking for an acoustic outlet while on-tour. When they returned home to Portland, they recruited Jackstraw guitarist Jon Neufeld, fiddler Annalisa Tornfelt and more recently drummer John Moen. Six years and two CDs later, Black Prairie gives these busy musicians a home-grown place to just play.

Aired: 05/02/13

Rating: TV-G

Problems Playing Video? | Closed Captioning

Funding provided by James F. & Marion L. Miller Foundation, Robert D. & Marcia H. Randall Fund for Lifelong Learning, The Kinsman Foundation, US Bank, Jackson Foundation and Roundhouse Foundation.